Prof. Dr. Bernd Skiera


Interests

Marketing Analytics
Electronic Commerce
Online Advertising
Data Driven Marketing
Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Customer Management
Marketing Technologies ("MarTech")
Sales Technologies ("SalesTech")
Integration Platforms as a Service ("iPaas")
Online Consumer Privacy

About me

In 1999, I took over the first chair of electronic commerce in Germany at Goethe University Frankfurt. In addition, I am a member of the managing board of the EFL-The Data Science Institute as well as the Schmalenbach Society and I am representing Germany as a “National Representative” at the European Marketing Community (EMAC).

My research interests include MarTech and SalesTech, electronic commerce (especially Amazon Market Place), online marketing (in particular programmatic advertising, real-time bidding and pricing), marketing analytics (including machine learning), the evaluation of the economic impact of more online consumer privacy (especially via the acquired ERC-Grant on „Economic Consequences of Restrictions on the Usage of Cookies“) and value-based customer management (Customer Lifetime Values, Customer Equity, Customer-Based Corporate Valuation (CBCV)).

I am privileged to have the opportunity to operate in a very good international network, enjoy publishing and attach great importance to the training of young scientists. 13 of the doctoral students for whom I was the first supervisor (4 of them women) are nowadays professors in Germany and abroad (e.g. London Business School, University of North Carolina), 9 of them in lifetime positions.

In research rankings I am often very well placed, e.g. among the top 30 scientists worldwide in the ranking of the American Marketing Association (AMA) with publications in the two top AMA journals Journal of Marketing and Journal of Marketing Research (placed among the Top 30 in all previous rankings, i.e. 2014, 2016, 2019). In the most recent Handelsblatt ranking (2014) of all German-speaking business administration professors (over 2000 persons), I was ranked first for my research performance over the past 5 years.

My first professional activity was that of a software developer at SAP, where I first programmed in Assembler and then developed one of the first dialog-enabled application in ABAP. The time there has shaped me a lot and contributed significantly to the fact that I am particularly interested in questions related to the interface between information systems and marketing.

I like to spend my free time with my wife and our three, but now grown-up and independent children. My daughters share with me my passion for skiing and my son my passion for chess, which I used to pursue much more intensively when I was young. With my wife I like to explore the area by bike.

Top

Prof. Dr. Bernd Skiera


Interessen

Marketing Analytics
Electronic Commerce
Online Werbung
Datengetriebenes Marketing
Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
Kundenwertmanagement
Marketingtechnologien ("MarTech")
Vertriebstechnologien ("SalesTech")
Integration Platforms as a Service ("iPaas")
Privatsphäre im Internet

Zur Person

Ich habe seit 1999 den damals ersten Lehrstuhl für Electronic Commerce in Deutschland an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main inne. Zudem bin ich im Vorstand des EFL-The Data Science Institute und der Schmalenbach-Gesellschaft, und vertrete Deutschland als „National Representative“ bei der European Marketing Community (EMAC).

Meine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind MarTech und SalesTech, Electronic Commerce (insb. der Amazon Market Place), Online-Marketing (insb. Programmatic Advertising bzw. Real-Time Advertising sowie das Preismanagement), Marketing Analytics (inkl. Machine Learning), Abschätzungen der ökonomischen Auswirkungen von mehr Datenschutz im Internet (insb. über den eingeworbenen ERC-Grant „Economic Consequences of Restrictions on the Usage of Cookies“) sowie das wertbasierte Kundenmanagement (insb. der Ermittlung von Kundenlebenswerten („Customer Lifetime Values“)) und dem Wert der Kundenbasis („Customer Equity“) und deren Einfluss auf den Unternehmenswert.

Ich bin international sehr gut vernetzt, publiziere sehr gerne und lege großen Wert auf die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. So sind 13 von mir betreute Doktoranden (davon 4 Frauen) mittlerweile Professoren im In- und Ausland (z.B. London Business School, University of North Carolina), 9 davon auf Lebenszeitstellen.

In Forschungs-Rankings bin ich häufig sehr gut platziert, so z.B. unter den Top-30-Wissenschaftlern im weltweiten Ranking der Amerikan Marketing Association (AMA) mit Publikationen in den beiden Top-AMA-Zeitschriften Journal of Marketing und Journal of Marketing Research (platziert unter den Top-30 in allen bisherigen Rankings der Jahre 2014, 2016, 2019). Im zuletzt durchgeführten Handelsblatt-Ranking (2014) aller deutschsprachiger betriebswirtschaftlicher Professoren (über 2000 Personen) wurde ich auf Platz 1 für die Forschungsleistung der vergangenen 5 Jahre gelistet.

Meine erste berufliche Tätigkeit war die eines Software-Entwicklers bei SAP, wo ich zunächst in Assembler programmiert und dann eine der ersten dialogfähigen Anwendungen in ABAP entwickelt durfte. Die Zeit dort hat mich sehr geprägt und ganz wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass mich Fragestellungen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wirtschaftsinformatik und dem Marketing ganz besonders interessieren.

Meine Freizeit verbringe ich gerne mit meiner Frau und unseren drei, mittlerweile allerdings erwachsenen und selbständigen Kindern. Meine Töchter teilen mit mir meine Leidenschaft zum Skifahren und mein Sohn meine Leidenschaft zum Schachspielen, was ich früher aber viel intensiver betrieben habe. Mit meiner Frau erkunde ich gerne mit dem Fahrrad die Gegend.

Top